Competition Cars - Silverstone Classic

Back to lot listing

1996 Nissan Primera Super Touring Car

Lot No.: 220

Registration: N/A
Chassis Number: 23
Engine Number: 96/06
Number of cylinders: 4
CC: 1998
Year of Manufacture: 1996
Sold for (£): Unsold

This ex-works, Repsol liveried, Nissan Primera was driven in period by Eric van de Poele (29 Grand Prix starts with Modena, Brabham and Fondmetal) in the 1996 Spanish Touring Car championship taking 5th overall with 2 outright wins that season.

For 1997, with factory support it was entrusted to Vaclav Bervid in the Central European ST championship, finishing second overall with 6 wins, 3 poles and 7 fastest laps.
In 1999 the car was returned to the UK, and raced by Keith Butcher and Derek Hales in the Formula Saloon championship, that was the forerunner to the, now very popular, HSCC Super Touring Car series, that for 2015 will race at Silverstone Classic and as part of the BTCC / TOCA package.
This Nissan, chassis 23, was designed and built by the team at Nissan Motorsport Europe, and was the design that dominated in British Touring Cars, taking the championship outright in 1999.

The car has now been returned to its original Repsol Spanish CET livery in readiness for a season in Super Tourers.
Technically, the car boasts an incredible spec with a fresh 300bhp, reverse head 8 injector laid back engine coupled to a 6 speed Hewland sequential gearbox with interchangeable ratios, all run by a Pectel T6 2000 ECU and Aim dash. Front and rear roll bars are adjustable from the driving seat with power steering and twin caliper AP water cooled brakes being other features of this incredible bespoke Super Touring Car, that in 1996 would have cost around £250,000 to build.
As part of the sale there is a large spares package including 6 wheels and tyres with wets, wheel nuts, body panels, gearbox spares (18 ratio sets), an air jack lance and various suspension parts. The history file contains FIA homologation papers, gearbox drawings and a season of set up data from the central European Championship.